1. Protection of Six Rights

Article 19 of Indian Constitution guarantees to all citizens the six rights. These are:

    1. Right to freedom of speech and expression.
    2. Right to assemble peaceably and without arms.
    3. Right to form associations or unions or co-operative societies.
    4. Right to move freely throughout the territory of India.
    5. Right to reside and settle in any part of the territory of India.
    6. Right to practice any profession or to carry on any occupation, trade or business.

Originally, Article 19 contained seven rights. But, the right to acquire, hold and dispose of property was deleted by the 44th Amendment Act of 1978.

These six rights are protected against only state action and not private individuals. Moreover, these rights are available only to the citizens and to shareholders of a company but not to foreigners or legal persons like companies or corporations, etc.

The State can impose ‘reasonable’ restrictions on the enjoyment of these six rights only on the grounds mentioned in the Article 19 itself and not on any other grounds.

By : Ramakant Verma

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: