Interim Government अंतरिम सरकार 1946

Table 1 Interim Government (1946) अंतरिम सरकार 1946

Sl. No. Members Portfolios Held
1. Jawaharlal Nehru Vice-President of the Council;

External Affairs & Commonwealth Relations

2. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Home, Information & Broadcasting
3. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Food & Agriculture
4. Dr. John Mathai Industries & Supplies
5. Jagjivan Ram Labour
6. Sardar Baldev Singh Defence
7. C.H. Bhabha Works, Mines & Power
8. Liaquat Ali Khan Finance
9. Abdur Rab Nishtar Posts & Air
10. Asaf Ali Railways & Transport
11. C. Rajagopalachari Education & Arts
12. I.I. Chundrigar Commerce
13. Ghaznafar Ali Khan Health
14. Joginder Nath Mandal Law

Note: The members of the interim Government were members of the Viceroy’s Executive Council. The Viceroy continued to be the head of the Council. But, Jawaharlal Nehru was designated as the Vice-President of the Council.

Table 2 First Cabinet of Free India (1947) भारत की प्रथम मंत्रिमंडल 1947

Sl. No. Members Portfolios Held
1. Jawaharlal Nehru Prime Minister; External Affairs &

Commonwealth Relations; Scientific Research

2. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Home, Information & Broadcasting; States
3. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Food & Agriculture
4. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Education
5. Dr. John Mathai Railways & Transport
6. R.K. Shanmugham


7. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Law
8. Jagjivan Ram Labour
9. Sardar Baldev Singh Defence
10. Raj Kumari Amrit Kaur Health
11. C.H. Bhabha Commerce
12. Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Communication
13. Dr. Shayama Prasad Mukherji Industries & Supplies
14. V.N. Gadgil Works, Mines & Power

  1. The Mughal Emperor, Shah Alam, granted ‘Diwani’ to the Company after its victory in the Battle of Buxar (1764).
  2. At that time, the Civil Services of the company were classified into covenanted civil services (higher civil services) and uncovenanted civil services (lower civil services). The former was created by a law of the Company, while the later was created otherwise.
  3. The system of Budget was introduced in British India in 1860.
  4. The Indian Independence Bill was introduced in the British Parliament on July 4, 1947 and received the Royal Assent on July 18, 1947. The act came into force on August 15, 1947.
  5. The boundaries between the two Dominions were determined by a Boundary Commission headed by Radcliff. Pakistan included the provinces of West Punjab, Sind, Baluchistan, East Bengal, North-Western Frontier Province and the district of sylhet in Assam. The referendum in the North-Western Frontier Province and Sylhet was in favour of Pakistan.

Previous Page:THE CROWN RULE (1858–1947)कंपनी का शासन (1773–1858)

Next Page :Demand and Composition of the Indian Constituent Assembly

भारतीए संविधान सभा की मांग और संरचना

By : Ramakant Verma

Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: